Crashing a Bike in China

Crashing a bike in China.
 

Hi all,

This will be my blog for the next year in China and first of all I’d like to say how humbled I am for taking an interest in my travels, emotional.
 
For those who have this as fresh information, and know nothing of what I’m doing or where I’m going, then let’s assume that I found it too hard to break the news to you personally. I’m most likely still cut up about it, so let’s not mention it!!
 
I’ll be living in the medium-size, northwestern city of Changchun, sandwiched between Mongolia and the Pacific Ocean with Russia to the north and world-leading diplomacy expert North Korea away to the south. With the 8 million population expanding, this industrial city may seem large by our comparisons, but I’m assured that it is quite modest by Chinese standards. It has particularly long winters and summers- autumn and spring lasting barely weeks apiece- which encourages year-round use of the mountains and national parks which surround it. Ominously for me, there is more on temperature to follow when the time is right.
 
As for the job I’ll be doing- teaching English in China- I can only confess my guilt of being nothing other than a rank cliche of a recently-graduated language student ready to roam the world before getting on with something proper! I’ll be mainly teaching primary and secondary school children, however during the year-long contract I’ll also be asked to dust off my technical and professional teaching manual to focus on adult learners.
 
 I hope you enjoy reading what I have to say and of course I’ll try my best to answer any general musings which you have and handle manfully any comments which come my way. I’ll quickly state that nothing I say is intended to offend, undermine or misrepresent anyone in any way, and that anything written will be very much based on my personal experiences, but other experiences are available, so please don’t take this as gospel. If you do disagree with anything I say, all I can say is that I’ve failed you.
 
 
Crashing a bike’s ‘You will only get answers’ section.
 
I have what I believe will become a semi-permanent feature of the blogs, for a bit of fun at the end. A regular slot of crazy I suppose. I was once told early on about China and its people- “Don’t ask questions, you will only get answers.” Now, this section will be for the times when, conveniently for blog purposes, I know that something has happened, but, inconveniently for the blog, I don’t know why. Moreover, I have decided in the moment that it is best left that way, for a number of reasons. It may be a pure moment of excellence for which I don’t need to know the answer. It may be a moment where I couldn’t attempt to fathom a reason for its being, so I bother asking. It may just be a moment of weakness and despair in times of utter madness.
 
I’ll try to make it as interesting as possible, looking at all aspects of life during the year. I may even include some videos if I’m feeling adventurous.
I can’t promise regular updates, but I’ll look at doing a piece as often as possible!
Hope you all enjoy the read! Stay in touch and all the best for the coming year.
2 thoughts on “Crashing a Bike in China

  1. Andrew Neal says:

    I look forward to following your adventures. Will you be hosting a video horse racing event…… Like in Derbyshire. Enjoy every minute

    Kind regards

    Andrew

  2. simonreeds18 says:

    Hi Andrew, hope you are all well! That’s the last time we saw each other? Seems like a long time ago, a great weekend nontheless. I’m afraid not, strictly no gambling here in china- not even the occasional game of poker 😉
    Great to hear from you, love to the family!
    Simon

Leave a Reply

